MOVIE: Under The Tuscan Sun (2003)

Under the Tuscan

Behind the scenes:

In 2010, when I was still in a call center, I went to our pantry to eat and I was ranting: “WTF! another boring movie” little did I know that this movie would’ve become the movie of my life (at least some parts of it). I borrowed this DVD because of the doves flying around Frances and this old lady was cheering with joy: “It’s a sign! It’s a sign!”

So curiosity strikes in…. and to begin…

Life offers you a thousand chance all you have to do is take one.

What “chance-of-a-lifetime” have you taken recently? If there’s none, well, what the fuck are you doing just sittin’ there, get out there and move!

Everyday, I’m always in great places and I wanted to say (to somebody): “Pretty awesome isn’t it? I mean how would you even begin describing all of these things?

Lessons from Under The Tuscan Sun

1. Everything really happens for a reason.

  • If it wasn’t for the flock of sheep, I guess Frances would’ve never seen the Bramasole villa. So remember, if you’ve experienced sudden detours in your travel or maybe in your life, understand that this doesn’t happen randomly, there’s a great idea behind it.

  • At the end she may have left the guys from the gay tour, but her journey is truly majestic than any of them (or maybe because she’s the star here, and all of those gay guys were just extras).

Under the Tuscan

2. When things are for you it’s actually gonna for you no matter what the resistance might be.

  • Those Italians made a bid on the house, accepted the new prices and in the end the house still ended with Frances. When doves pissed on Frances the old lady said it was a very a good sign.

  • That was the sign the old lady was looking for. Do you believe in signs? As for me, I am a sign seeker. All these signs regarding our requests are right around us. We just need to look in the wright right perspective.

Under the Tuscan

3. Buyers remorse (house) can easily be conquered.

  • I admit I felt this too but let’s take Frances’ advise:

The key to overcoming buyer’s remorse is to have a plan. Pick a room and make it yours. Go slowly through the house; Be polite; Introduce yourself so it can introduce itself to you.

Under the Tuscan Sun

4. Strangers can, after all, be friends… very good friends in the end

  • It is only natural that getting to know people should take some time. Sometimes I have this inner voice saying: “This is all wrong!; kinda boils down to the feeling of “WTF! did I get myself into?” but as time passes by and you get to see them regularly, you get to serve them and they get to serve you back; All becomes well. You become family.

Under the Tuscan Sun

What I really enjoyed and would like to replicate

I’m not a good writer like Frances in the movie, and I’m not willing to tell you what I have learned on the movie. I want you to personally watch it and enjoy the wisdom it offers. That movie has been shot probably back in 2002 and life was so simple back then. Her laptop was maybe the old Apple iBook and notice how she entertained herself during downtime. I’ve been doing that myself when I have nothing to do in bus and airport terminals. I do it with the bus headlights instead of bottles. 🙂

These days, I’m something of a loner myself. I’m pretty good at staying entertained…

Under the Tuscan Sun

But just so you know, I loved the movie not because it’s an American-Italian or American-American love story; I loved it because of how simple life could be and its also because of the fact that I can relate how it feels like  meeting a lot of great people along the way. And to be honest, I’ll actually be doing the same thing with the old guy with the flowers – waving hello at him.

Under the Tuscan Sun

My friend, choose your route. It’s not always fun the first time, but trust me, it will all be worth it in the end.

Under the Tuscan Sun

If watching this movie didn’t give you any wisdom, well don’t regret that you’ve watched this, remember:

Regrets are a waste of time. They’re the past crippling you in the present.

Under the Tuscan Sun

When life gives you a lot of chances. You just need to say the two magic words.

“Ok! Yes!” then enjoy.

Got something to say?

